:::
:::

About us

Museum history

Academic Legacy

Professor Fu Ssu-nien, the Institute's first director, founded the Institute of History and Philology in 1928. Relying on the support of the institute's exceptional organization and capacity for research, the Preparatory Office for the Academia Sinica Museum was established in 1933. Dr. Fu Ssu-nien envisioned the museum as a center for educating the public, promoting society's interest in cultural heritage and broadening the historical horizons of common citizens. By associating the artifacts with their relevant natural history, the museum differed considerably from other museums which simply displayed their collections out of context.

During and after the decade of the Sino-Japanese war, the relationship between the museum's Preparatory Office and the Institute of History and Philology became closer, and the two started working together on archaeological excavations and ethnological projects. After the relocation of the Academia Sinica Museum to Taiwan in 1949, it was merged with the National Palace Museum of Peking to form the Joint Administration of Academia Sinica and the Palace Museum. In 1965 the name was changed to the National Palace Museum in Taipei. The Museum of the Academia Sinica thus temporarily ceased to exist .

In 1958, an exhibition hall for archaeological artifacts was inaugurated with only one room at the Institute of History and Philology. With the opening of the History Exhibition Building in 1986, the museum received its first home in Taiwan. The first and the second floor of the Building were specifically reserved for exhibition galleries. After renovations were completed in June 2002, the Academia Sinica Museum was reopened to the public. This rebirth of the museum represents not only a physical return to the Institute of History and Philology, but also the revival of the spirit in which it was founded. In contrast to other museums, artifacts in our exhibits are significant on two levels: first, due to their importance to historical, cultural, and archaeological knowledge, and second, because they illuminate the development of both the institute and Chinese academics at large since the 1920's.

The Reorientation of the IHP Museum in the Information Age of the 21st Century

Since the creation of the Institute of History and Philology, the guiding principle behind all its academic activities has always been to encourage researchers to leave the confines of their libraries and conduct field research. Fu Ssu-nien urged his colleagues to travel up hill and down dale in search of first-hand materials only obtainable through field research. This critical spirit stressing scientific verification is manifested in the works displayed in the museum.

In the global village of the 21st century, knowledge is no longer an exclusive good to be stored in an ivory tower, but must be made accessible to all sectors of the public. Only in this way can we stimulate discussion, engage in critical inquiry, enrich historical imagination, and envision future perspectives. This museum hopes to bridge the gap between its scientific heritage and the general public. By doing so, we wish to pass on the legacy and achievements of the museum, while at the same time adjusting our operations to meet future challenges. Your suggestions and comments are most welcome.

Milestones in the Development of an Academic Museum

In 1997, the museum was closed for renovation. Exhibit themes and contents were planned anew. Meanwhile, in order to meet the special requirements for the conservation of both bronze and organic items, two constant temperature and humidity storerooms were set up. In 1994 a conservation laboratory was established to take charge of research and conservation. All resources and manpower related to education, promotion, and exhibit matters were integrated. The museum was henceforth transformed into a professionally managed museum. The museum was reopened in 2002 with several permanent exhibitions as well as smaller-scale special exhibits and promotional events. At present, our key task is to re-categorize the artifacts excavated from China and to cooperate with the National Science Councils National Digital Archive Project to digitalize all collections into a computerized archival database.

As Dr. Fu Ssu-nien advocated in the early days of the museum, the tasks of researching and exhibiting artifacts do not conflict but rather benefit from each other. In addition to academic research, the Institute has always considered the dissemination of historical knowledge as one of its long-term duties. The exhibition hall has served as a place where the academic work conducted within the Institute is presented to the public for mutual communication, in the hope of promoting the public's interest in culture and science.

Collection features

Collection features

Unlike conventional “showpiece” museums or the personal collections of scholars, the artifacts held by the Institute of History and Philology are mostly collected from archaeological field excavations carried out in China prior to its relocation to Taiwan, supplimented with artifacts later found during field research in Taiwan or in Fujian Province. These objects were collected mainly for the purpose of academic research.

Classified by materials, the collection can be divided into artifacts made from stone, bone, shell, ceramic, jade, and bronze as well as wooden slips, and archives recorded on paper. The collection spans the breadth of Chinese history, from the Paleolithic Period to the later imperial dynasties of the Ming and Ch'ing, and modern times. As for regional variety, the majority of the pieces originated in Mainland China, others are from Europe or Taiwan.

Various books and ink rubbings from the Institute's Fu Ssu-nien Library and the Archives of the Grand Secretariat from the Ming and Ch'ing dynasties are held in the Ming and Ch'ing Records room. In addition to these, over 140,000 pieces are stored in the Institute itself. They include:
 
  • Over 100,000 pieces excavated by the Academia Sinica during the time when the Institute was still in China, approximately 70% of which are from the Shang period ruins near Anyang, Honan Province. In addition to these, there are also artifacts from archaeological finds in Hsin-ts'un, Chunsheng, Honan Province, Liu-li-ko in Hui-hsien, Shan-piao-chen in Hsisheng, Ch'eng-tzu-yai in Chi-nan, Shantung Province, Jih-chao Liang-ch'eng-chen, Fo-yeh-miao in Dunhuang, Kansu Province, the Wuwei Lama Wan and the Minch'in Sanchiao Ch'eng.
  • Over 7000 pieces dating from the Paleolithic period, originally from the Mortillet collection.
  • A number of bronzes dating from the Shang and Chou dynasties, purchased by Profesor Fu Ssu-nien in Peking.
  • Over 13,000 wooden slips from Edson-gol, dating back to the Han dynasty.
  • Over 1000 items relating to ethnic minority groups in China.

Collection concept

Conventional museums tend to emphasize the individual intrinsic value of the displayed items, separate from their historical or archaeological context. This museum, however, recognizes the fact that each artifact exhibited has its historical background, and has its own unique archaeological status. The museum, therefore, tries to guide the visitor further into the world that the object once inhabited, and enable the onlooker to understand properly the object's comprehensive cultural background.

The guiding principle of the museum of the IHP is the scientific spirit of "New Academic Research", which has served as the foundation of Academia Sinica since its inception. The first floor focuses on archaeology, and includes artifacts from ancient Chinese civilization, extending from the Neolithic Lungshan culture through the Shang period, the Western Chou, and into the Eastern Chou period. The second floor concentrates on historical records, and is divided into six types: wooden slips from the Han dynasty, rare books, the archives of the Grand Secretariat, ethnic groups from the southwest China, stele ink rubbings and historical documents from Taiwan, as well as a display area reserved for special exhibitions. Notes and explanations are provided by experts of every field in Academia Sinica. The exhibition starts in the main hall on the second floor, and all display areas can be reached from this hall. Each area on the second floor is preceded by an introductory note on how the artifacts were found as well as their academic significance.

The transparent glass floor on the second level and the path from the second floor down to the first floor are designed to generate an atmosphere of walking underground into an archaeological site. The corridors on the first floor exhibition area link the display areas from different periods. Previous spatial constraints imposed by numerous supporting pillars of the building were resolved using an ingenious design to portray visually the division of the historical past into different periods. The most outstanding feature of this area -- apart from the photographs of the tombs and archaeological excavations presented on the wall -- is that all of the artifacts excavated from any one tomb are all displayed.

Organization

Director

黃銘崇 Huang, Ming-Chung

Education promotion

王家瑋 Wang, Chia-Wei
王任君 Wang, Jen-Chun

Exhibition planning

林明信 Lin, Ming-Hsin
丁瑞茂 Ting, Jui-Mao
黃睿文 Huang, Jui-Wen

Exhibition operation

鄭智文 Cheng, Chih-Wen

:::
:::

關於

本館沿革

學術傳承

本所第一任所長  傅斯年先生於1928年創建歷史語言研究所,並以史語所優越的組織與研究能力為後盾,於1933年委託成立了中央博物院籌備處。他認為博物館主要目的在教育民眾,以提升國民素質,開啟國人文化視野。他的博物館理念帶有濃厚的自然史博物館性質,與收藏展示古董的博物館截然異趣。

自抗戰前至抗戰結束的十多年間,史語所與中央博物院籌備處的關係更形密切,兩個單位合作進行多次的考古發掘和民族學調查。中央博物院籌備處隨史語所遷來台灣後,於1949年與北平故宮博物院合併成立「國立中央、故宮博物院聯合管理處」,1965年改制為「國立故宮博物院」。中央博物院無形中便消失了。

1958年史語所考古館落成,闢有考古陳列室一間,1986年歷史文物陳列館大樓啟用,一、 二兩 樓闢為展覽廳,博物館的規模乃初步成形;至 2002年6月歷史文物陳列館於整修後重新開幕──中央博物院的立館精神, 終於在他的老本家史語所以歷史學、考古學、民族學為導向的歷史文物陳列館再度復活。

本館的館藏品與一般藝術博物館所蒐集的藏品最大不同處在於﹕ 它們不僅具備文物本身的歷史文化與考古知識的價值,同時也具體說明史語所自 1920年代後期以來 ,以及 近代中國學術史的發展背景。

知識社會裡的新定位

中央研究院歷史語言研究所自創立以來,始終堅持的基本治學方針,即要研究者走出讀書人狹隘的小書齋 ─「上窮碧落下黃泉,動手動腳找東西」,以第一手資料的蒐集與研究,為史學研究的首要工作。這種 堅持無徵不信,實證求真的科學批判精神和理念, 不僅是史語所的傳統精神 ,而其研究具體成果的展現,則落實在 歷史文物陳列館 展出的內容。

在全球化的 21世紀﹐知識已經不再是典藏在象牙塔裡的精品,而是必須走入各個社會階級的公眾領域,開啟辯論,激發想像,勾勒遠景。本館自許要為知識體系與民間大眾之間建立橋樑,傳承過往的成果,邁向未來的挑戰。也希望民間社會傳來的聲音與批評,成為鞭策史語所反省與改進的動力。

邁向學術博物館的新里程

為迎接新時代的知識文化使命 本館於 1997年封館整修,並重新規劃展示主題與內容﹔同時,改善本館典藏庫房的環境,依青銅及有機文物的性質,設有兩個恆溫恆溼專室。1994年成立了文物維護實驗室,以達到文物研究、保存及維護的責任;最後,將展覽及教育推廣等相關資源與人力,進行整合,期使本館朝博物館專業經營的方向逐步轉型。現階段的典藏工作重點,除積極將所藏中原考古文物重新整理外,亦配合國科會「國家典藏數位化計畫」,將文物影像、資料數位化。本館2002年重新開放後,將以常設典藏展為主,每年配合小型的特展與相關的教育推廣活動,將本所歷來的研究成果與社會大眾分享。

誠如傅斯年先生在創所初期所提倡的,研究工作與博物館的並存,是不相衝突的。在勤於學術研究之餘,兼顧普及教育和文化提升的責任,正是史語所長期以來的主張;歷史文物陳列館作為展示本所學術研究成果的場所,珍貴的歷史文物將不只是學術研究的材料,同時讓觀覽者皆能欣賞且有所得,以引發人們對於學術的瞭解與興趣,促進科學和文化的進步。

典藏特色

不同於傳統文人雅士,或一般精品博物館的古董收藏,史語所收藏的文物,主要為本所遷臺以前在中國大陸,以及遷台以來在台閩地區從事田野工作的成果,其目的則是作為學術研究的素材。

本所文物若按材料區別,有石、骨、蚌、陶、玉、青銅等器物,及竹木簡牘與紙本的檔案圖書。按時代別,則可上溯舊石器時代,下至明、清、近現代。按地區別,則有的遠自歐洲,有的近在臺灣,大部分出自中國。

其中除圖書、金石拓片藏於本所傅斯年圖書館,明清時期內閣檔案藏於明清檔案工作室外,其餘十四餘萬件文物,皆收藏於本館。主要內容如下:
 
  1. 本所於中國大陸時期發掘的考古遺物十萬餘件。其中河南安陽殷虛遺址出土遺物約佔庫藏量70%;另外,尚有河南濬縣辛村、輝縣琉璃閣、汲縣山彪鎮,山東濟南城子崖、日照兩城鎮,甘肅敦煌佛爺廟、武威喇嘛灣及民勤三角城等遺址出土遺物。
  2. 原摩梯耶( Mortillet)父子收藏 歐洲舊石器 七千餘件。
  3. 傅斯年 先生購於北平的商周青銅器一批。
  4. 居延漢簡 一萬三千餘件。
  5. 中國民族學文物 約一千餘件。

展示理念

傳統的精品博物館強調物件本身的價值,但本所典藏的文物因各有所屬的歷史脈絡或考古情境,因此本館的規劃亦打破一般博物館的精品陳列方式,期望能導引觀者進入文物所處的情境,深入了解其蘊藏的文化內涵。

全館以本所的治學理念——「新學術」精神為主軸,將歷年研究成果與素材規劃成不同的展示主題。一樓的考古空間以時間為軸,內容包括新石器時代龍山文化、殷商、西周、東周幾個相延續的上古文明;二樓歷史空間則依史料類型來區分,包括居延漢簡、珍藏圖書、內閣大庫檔案、中國西南民族、豐碑拓片、臺灣史料六大主題及特展區,由本所各領域的研究人員分別撰文,詮釋文物的歷史脈絡與文化意涵。參觀動線由二樓大廳開始,各展區由此向外輻射,各自以既獨立又相連的空間區塊呈現。

二樓的每一展區皆有一個引介式的空間先介紹文物入藏的經過及其學術價值,再經由空橋的導引,與展示文物的另一空間相連。二樓地面上透明的挑空玻璃,以及從上而下進入一樓的動線設計,都是為營造一樓考古空間深入地底的氛圍而設計的。在一樓展區中,通過玻璃牆構成的抽象時間走廊將各展區串連起來,原本館舍柱列過多可能造成的空間限制,則被巧妙地轉化為以空間區塊虛擬歷史斷代的形式。本區的展示除了配合相關的墓或工作照片外,最大的特點就是將整個墓葬出土時的所有文物全數展出,以凸顯考古出土物的脈絡與特色。

組織架構

主任

黃銘崇

教育推廣

王家瑋
王任君

展覽策畫

林明信
丁瑞茂
黃睿文

公共服務

謝璿
林艷村

展場營繕

鄭智文